Michael Hughes

“I ndíl chuimhne ar Mhicheál Ó hAodha, Óglach na hÉireann, a dunmharaíodh anseo ag Arm na Breataine ar 18 Deireadh Fómhair 1974. I meas laochra na nGael go raibh sé. In proud and loving memory of Vol. Michael Hughes, Irish Republican Army, who was murdered at this spot by The British Army on the 18th October 1974.” According to Sutton, Hughes was shot while attempting to hijack a bus.

Main Avenue, Newry

M08521 [M08522]

Copyright © 2012 Peter Moloney

Colin Area Roll Of Remembrance

Local IRA volunteers are commemorated in multiple stones in the Twinbrook memorial garden. On the main wall – which is a new addition – are listed Sean Keenan, Michael Ferguson, Lily Campbell, Mary Keenan, Eddie Keenan, Mary McKee, Hugh McKee. On the obelisk on the left (see previously Twinbrook & Poleglass IRA) are Gerard Fennell, John Rooney, Bobby Sands, Frankie Ryan. On the stone to the right – which was previously outside the railings (see M03008) – are the twelve deceased Troubles-era hunger strikers.

“The day will dawn when the people of Ireland this desire for freedom. It’s then we will see the rising of the moon.”

“I have sacrificed for the republic all that man holds dear – my wife, my children, my liberty, my life. – Wolfe Tone”

“The road for suffering is paved with suffering, hardships and torture, carry on my gallant and brave comrades until that certain day. – Tom Williams”

“I too have fought for my freedom not only in captivity but also outside where my country is held captive. I have the spirit of freedom that cannot be quenched. [– Bobby Sands]”

“This monument has been re-dedicated by the people of Twinbrook and Poleglass in honour of those volunteers of Óglaigh na hÉireann who gave their lives for Irish freedom.”

Gardenmore Road, Belfast

M08450 M08446 M08447 M08448 M08449 [M08451] [M08452] [M08453] [M08454] M08455 [M08456] [M08457]

Copyright © 2012 Peter Moloney

South Down Command

“This monument is dedicated to all those from the South Down locality who lost their lives or played a part in the fight for Irish freedom. Fuair siad bas [bás] ar son saoirse na heireann [hÉireann]”: [IRA volunteers] Peter McNulty, James Carlin, Martin Curran, Leo O’Hanlon, Vivien Fitzsommons, Alphonsus Cunningham, Pauline Kane, Paul Magorrian, Francis Rice, and Colum Marks, who is also included in a north Down memorial.

With adjacent stencil from anti-Agreement republicans: “Restore political status”

South Square, Castlewellan

M08429 [M08430] [M08431] [M08432] M08428

Copyright © 2012 Peter Moloney

Na hÓglaigh A Fuair Bás I nDún Pádraig

“I ndíl chuimhne ar na hÓglaigh a fuair bás ar son na hÉireann: an tÓglach Colm Marks, a maríodh san áit seo [who was killed at this spot] 10-4-1991 agus na hÓglaigh eile a fuair bás i nDún Pádraig” Seamus Blaney, James Carlin, Dickie Curran, Leo Hanlon, Vivienne Fitzsimons, and – a new, historical, addition – Thomas Russell “the man from God knows where” and United Irishman who was hanged and beheaded outside Downpatrick jail in 1803 for his part in the rising.

“The fools, the fools, they have left us our fenian dead and while Ireland holds these graves Ireland unfree shall never be at peace.” [Padraig Pearse’s oration at the funeral of O’Donovan Rossa in 1915]

“Óglaigh Na hÉireann An Dún Theas” [North Down IRA]

St Patrick’s Avenue, Downpatrick

M08424 M08423 [M08425] [M08426] [M08427]

Copyright © 2012 Peter Moloney

Set In Stone

Ulster’s solemn league and covenant is engraved on a stone on the plaza in front of St Mark’s, Market Street, Portadown.

“The above was signed by me at Portadown “Ulster Day” Saturday 28th September 1912″

“Erected by the people of Portadown in diamond jubilee year 2012. God save the queen.”

M08328 [M08329]

Copyright © 2012 Peter Moloney


A tarp is added to the Ardoyne memorial garden putting the 12 deceased hunger strikers from the modern Troubles alongside those who were executed for their part in the Easter Rising. “The ideals behind the Proclamation, the Easter Rising and the hunger strikes are the ideals which drive Sinn Féin today, social equality, economic and political freedom and the believe [sic] that all the people of the island should benefit from the labour of the island. It is for this reason that this signatories, the hunger strikers and the thousands of others gave their lives.”

For the cross, see 2002.

Berwick Road, Belfast

M08258 M08259 M08257

Copyright © 2012 Peter Moloney

Remember Us

Lamentations for the “killed, wounded, missing” among “the west Belfast volunteers who formed in this area”, verse 1:16 in English on the right pillar commemorating the 36th (Ulster) Division – “For these things do I weep/My eyes flow with tears” – and in Irish on the damaged left pillar commemorating the 10th & 16th Irish Divisions – “Seo iad cúis mo chaointe/No [Na?] deora le mo shuile” (the 1981 Bíobla Naofa translation is “Sin an fáth a mbím ag caoi/Agus ag sileadh na súl go fuíoch”).

“‘Remember us who gave our silent dreams within the noise of battle’s thunder/Remember us who have our hopes on golden fields once truly filled with wonder/Remember us who near Thiepval Wood because we could gave our lives own future/Remember us who at eternity’s edge are new born this day between thoughts of sacrifice and loss/Remember us, remember us’ – James Logan, Somme, July 1916”


Ballygomartin Drive, Belfast

Copyright © 2012 Peter Moloney

Beidh An Bua Againn Go Fóill

“Tógadh an leach cuimhneacháin seo ag muintir an cheantar i gcuimhne an Óglaigh [Óglach] Réamonn Mac Raois a fuair bás ar an 21 Bealtaine 1981 i ndiaidh lá agus seasca ar stailc ocrais sna H-Blocanna. Rugadh Réamonn ar an 15 Feabhra 1957 ag Páirc Naomh Maolmhaodhóg. … Seasann an deich gcrann atá curtha taobh thiar den leacht chuimhneacháin do na firéin [fíréin].”

“This monument was erected by the people of the area in memory of IRA Volunteer Raymond McCreesh who died on May 21st 1981 after 61 days on hunger strike in the British H-Block prison at Long Kesh. Raymond McCreesh was born on February 25th 1957 at St Malachy’s Park, Camloch. … The ten trees planted behind the monument represent the ten men who died in the H-Blocks in 1981.”

There is a mural to McCreesh on the gable of Teach Réamoinn Mhic Raois – see Keep On Marching.

Newry Rd, Camlough

[M07322] M07324 M07323

Copyright © 2011 Peter Moloney